Nights of sand.

desert-2897107_960_720

I can see the light behind the dunes

I can feel the sand beneath my feet.

 

As I fall, deep down into the grey sky

and as the clouds arrive,

they caress my cheeks,

with their windy smiles and sparkly eyes.

 

The bright lights of the city, blink and shine,

and call me to luxury,

but here I lay, on the sand so fine

staring at the purply sky.

 

So here I stand ,

before the heavens, dying to make a mark.

I don’t need the cities’ luxuries,

don’t need an empty heart.

 

I seek serenity,

I seek wisdom.

As I stand here amidst the golden rivers.

Rivers as bland as ocean breezes,

gathered from the flowers blossom in Elysium.

 

No cityscape can match the beauty of this prepossessing desert,

No luxury can make me feel so content.

Hence here I stand, on the sands of the desert overt,

with nothing to hide, nothing to pretend.

 

Neither a hundred storey building can make me feel so elated ,

nor a hotel room can bestow upon me that comfort.

 

The bright lights of the city, blink and shine ,

and call me to luxury

but here I lay in the dune, weathered ,

staring at the purply sky.

 

( In collaboration with Yeeshan Malik , instagram : @uncomfortably_.numb)

6 thoughts on “Nights of sand.

Leave a comment